Colt 1911 El Samuel Colt

After having a lot of fun working on the Beretta 92FS, I’ve decided to revisit my old 2016 rendition of another of my favorite pistols, the Colt Model 1911. This time, though, I wanted to try something a little bit more flashy than the basic black model I did back then, so I went looking for Castor Troy’s golden pistols in “Face Off”. However, upon closer inspection, I noticed that they were way cooler in my memory than in reality, as they were just gold-plated normal pistols.
So, I tried looking into the pistols in Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo+Juliet, but they turned out to be Beretta 92s as well. Finally, I settled on something a bit more realistic than movie props – the Colt Government 1911 El Samuel Colt. It has a really cool and detailed look.

Next step was to look into my old stuff, and after some inspection I’ve decided that, although the high poly still holds pretty well, the low poly didn’t. I’ve then build a new low poly model, and when checking the new unwrappers and texel density, I’ve decided that it could be a nice moment to also pratice some UDIM workflow, so I could have nice and crispy details all around the model and finally moved into painting the model at Substance Painter.
This is where things got muddy and took a bit more time to get done. Handpainting all the details was a bit tedious, but I cannot argue about the result. It looks great.

Substance Painter

Unreal 5

Leave a comment